The easing of visa and travel restrictions for certain other categories of foreigners, including Overseas Citizen of India (OC1) card holders, has been considered by the government. On 30 November 2016, the Indian authorities approved further liberalisation, simplification and rationalisation of the visa requirement in India. It also announced that other countries will be added to the list of electronic visas. [69] The electronic visa would have a validity period of 60 days and could be requested by foreigners up to four months before the visit. [70] Five seaports – Mumbai, Kochi, Chennai, Goa and Mangalore – would welcome tourists who would come with an e-visa. [71] Foreign nationals holding a registration certificate for The Indian residing abroad or holding a person`s card of Indian origin are exempt from the visa requirement, have the right to reside in India and may enter India without limitation. Citizens of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, mainland China, Nepal or Pakistan are generally not allowed to have Indian citizenship abroad. 3. Therefore, the visa restrictions imposed on this department would not apply to the aforementioned categories of foreigners O.Ms of the peer number of 17.04.2020 – 05.05.2020. Similarly, the U.M of this department, which has a number of 07.05.2020, would not apply to aircraft, boarding, train or other vehicles with which the aforementioned categories of foreigners (including OCI cardholders) may travel to India.

In January 2016, it was announced that the extension would take place until March 2016. [63] In November 2015, it was announced that the visa would be increased to 180 days. [64] In November 2014, it was announced that the electronic visa system could be implemented for approximately 25 countries, including the 13 countries eligible for a visa upon arrival. [45] Later this month, it was announced that 28 countries would be eligible for an electronic visa on 27 November 2014 and that the list of on-arrival visas would include eligible countries as well as Brazil, Germany, Germany, Israel, Jordan, Mauritius, Norway, Palestine, Russia, Thailand, Ukraine, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, Usa. [46] [47] 1. All existing visas granted to foreigners, with the exception of those belonging to diplomatic, official/international organizations, employment and project categories, remain suspended until the Indian government lifts the ban on travel abroad to/from India. (Vide MHA OM no 25022/24/2020-FV/FI (i) from 5 May 2020). 2. „The provision for a regular visa, an electronic visa or a residence arrangement for foreigners whose visa has expired or which would be extended during the period from 01.02.2020 (in the middle of the night) to the day of the lifting of the ban on international passenger traffic from India, on the basis of „FREE”, on the basis of the online application by foreigners.

These extensions would be granted for a maximum of 30 days from the date of the lifting of the ban on international air traffic from India, without any over-stay penalty being imposed.